Parish Council

The council has the power to raise money through taxation, the precept. The precept is the parish council’s share of the council tax. The precept demand goes to the billing authority, the district council, which collects the tax for the parish council. Parish councils make all kinds of decisions on issues that affect the local community. Probably the most common topics that parish councils get involved with are planning matters (they are statutory consultees), crime prevention, managing open spaces and campaigning for and delivering better services and facilities.


Council Members

Councillor Mrs Joan Syers (Chairman)
Councillor Mrs Andrea Melbourne
Councillor Mrs Anne Mahl (Vice-chair)Councillor Brian Rookes
Councillor Mrs Ann BernardCouncillor Carl Silcock
Councillor Mike DoyleCouncillor David Stead
Councillor Mrs Audrey GreavesCouncillor Miss Sophie Watson